Take Control!

02.tif

Society will try to make you believe that something is wrong with you if you don’t have life totally figured out by a certain age or by a certain point in your life.For a while,even I believed that. My mom has always tried to remind me to stop comparing myself to other people. It wasn’t until this year that I finally began to understand that. In the back of my mind I always knew she was right but I still tried to force myself to live up to other peoples standards of success. I tried to force myself to college because it is what everyone said I should be doing. I forced myself to work jobs that I hated because people said it would eventually pay off. The fact of the matter is,we’re all going in different directions. What is meant for someone else, may not be meant for you. What works for someone else, may not work for you. You can’t compare your life to a friends, a family members, or  even a strangers life because we all walk different paths. Think of how boring life would be if everyone did and had the exact same things. We wouldn’t even understand the concept of hard work and we wouldn’t strive for anything. Set the bar for your own life and move at your own pace.I can remember when I was in high school, a lot of my friends had moved out of their parents homes before they were 18. I felt bad because I hadn’t. Now that I’m older,I realize that they moved because they had family issues or because they wanted to have more freedom. I had nothing to feel bad about, I’m thankful that my parents even allowed me to remain under their roof until I was financially able to move. There are so many other things that I did when I was younger because I wanted to try and keep up with what everyone else was doing. Thankfully, I wised up and learn to achieve things that I personally desired.

As you read this, ask yourself:

What are my short term goals?

What are my long term goals?

Where do I see myself in five years?

What have I accomplished so far?

What do I want to change about my life?

What do I want out of life?

I believe the answers to the above questions are important. It took me a long time to realize that there isn’t a particular age that you should be married. There isn’t a particular age that you should purchase your first car. There isn’t a particular age for anything that you want to accomplish, except the one that you set for yourself. If you want to purchase a car before you turn 25, work towards it. If you want to buy a home before you’re 40, work towards it. We let society dictate too much of our lives. We have to do things in our own time and stop forcing ourselves to abide by the same limits that other people set for themselves.

Lastly, it is okay to fail at something. It is okay to be confused and it is  okay to get a little lost. Mistakes are meant to teach lessons. Trial and error is usually how we become successful. With most things in life, we will fail before we succeed but failing doesn’t make us failures. If one approach doesn’t work, try another and if that doesn’t work, try another. Do not get discouraged if something doesn’t work out the first time,always try another approach, or put your efforts towards something else. I’ve always liked the saying,if you fall 99 times get up 100 times.

It’s your life,don’t try to pursue someone else’s vision.

2 thoughts on “Take Control!”

Leave a Reply

